Showing posts with label Assembly polls. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Assembly polls. Show all posts

Monday, 23 January 2017

All the four sitting MLAs of BJP in Kanpur district get ticket for assembly polls

KANPUR: The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has bet on all the four sitting MLAs of Kanpur district and has given them ticket to contest 2017 assembly polls with a hope that they will win again. But the saffron party is yet to announce candidates on remaining six seats. It is expected that the names of the candidates on six seats would be declared by BJP very soon.

This time like it happened in 2012, BJP MLA Satish Mahana will contest from Maharajpur seat, Satyadeo Pachauri will fight his opponents from Govind Nagar constituency. While Mahana is a six-time MLA, Pachauri had won assembly elections twice in the past.
Satish Mahana was MLA from Cantt constituency in 1991, 1993, 1996, 2002 and 2007. In 2012 due to delimitation, Mahana had to contest from Maharajpur and he had still won. The party is confident of his win and so is Mahana.

Satyadeo Pachauri had won for the first time in 1991 from Arya Nagar assembly seat. In 2012, he again contested election and managed to win comfortably. This time again party has shown its confidence in him.

The saffron party is also expecting win from Salil Vishnoi who is a three-time MLA. He had won 2002 and 2007 elections from Generalganj seat in Kanpur district. In 2012 due to delimitation, his constituency changed and he contested election from Arya Nagar assembly constituency and registered a victory.